BLENDNEWYORK fashion…art…style…inspiration…love

Posts Tagged ‘Patanjali’
Say Grace

On the surface, gratitude appears to arise from a sense that you’re indebted to another person for taking care of you in some way, but looking deeper, you’ll see that the feeling is actually a heightened awareness of your connection to everything else. Gratitude flows when you break out of the small, self-centered point of […]

Embrace Reality

When you deny the reality of life, you appreciate it less. Meditate on the Buddha’s Five Remembrances and rediscover the magic of life just as it is. Ignorance, or avidya, is a root cause of suffering, according to Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra (II.5). But the ignorance Patanjali refers to is less a lack of knowledge than […]

The Practice of Surrender

Ishvara pranidhana is not about what your yoga can do for you, but about approaching your practice in the spirit of offering. When I was an Ashtanga student in Mysore, I loved walking the several blocks to Pattabhi Jois’s yoga shala (school) for 4:30 a.m. practice. In the quiet darkness before dawn, the side streets […]

Yoga Sutra #17

An object is known or unknown dependent on whether or not the mind gets colored by it.

Intro into Ashtanga Yoga…
Intro into Ashtanga Yoga...

Ashtanga yoga is a system of yoga transmitted to the modern world by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. This method of yoga involves synchronizing the breath with a progressive series of postures—a process producing intense internal heat and a profuse, purifying sweat that detoxifies muscles and organs. The result is improved circulation, a light and strong body, and a calm mind.

Yoga Sutra #47

Beauty, grace, strength, and adamantine hardness constitute bodily perfection.

Yoga Sutras #28 and #29

By the practice of the limbs of Yoga, the impurities dwindle away and there dawns the light of wisdom, leading to discriminative discernment. The 8 limbs of Yoga are: yama (abstinence) niyama (observance) asana (posture) pranayama (breath control) pratyahara (sense withdrawal) dharana (concentration) dhyana (meditation) samadhi (contemplation, absorption, or super-conscious state)

Yoga Sutra #5

Ignorance is regarding the impermanent as permanent, the impure as pure, the painful as pleasant, and the non-Self as the Self.

Yoga Sutra #36

To one established in truthfulness, actions and their results become subservient.

Yoga Sutra #33

By cultivating attitudes of friendliness toward the happy, compassion for the unhappy, delight in the virtuous, and disregard for the wicked, the mind-stuff retains its undisturbed calmness.

Searching for Something?